Lawyer Fashion Show!

When I was a NYC lawyer, I would often wear jeans and casual shirts and sneakers to the office — unless I had a court appearance or a client meeting, in which case I wore a suit. I followed pretty much the same rules here in Seattle, although I ditched the sneakers in favor of something leather.  I pretty much always wore a suit to depositions, regardless of whether I was taking, defending, or just watching, and I never really got used to the Seattle custom of dressing casually for depositions. Yes, I know the lawyer is not on camera, and there is no judge present, but still…

That’s all a long introduction for this: I don’t think I am qualified to speak on the fashion sensibilities of Seattle litigators. But regardless of whether you think you need fashion tips, or want fashion tips, or care about fashion tips, I bet you’d enjoy a good lawyer fashion show.

And here it is, courtesy of the Wall Street Journal and the lawyers at Proskauer Rose LLP.  What are the fashion sensibilities of the Proskauer lawyers?  Their sensibilities are as follows:

Proskauer employees tend to dress formally for client meetings and court appearances, in line with other white-shoe firms, but otherwise they follow a “business casual” aesthetic. Pops of bright color, peep-toe shoes and prints are all fair game.

You can look at the whole interactive fashion slideshow at the WSJ site.  Your first taste is here:

You’re welcome!

3 thoughts on “Lawyer Fashion Show!

  1. Pingback: Lawyers Dress for Success! | Ziff Blog

  2. Pingback: What My Readers Want: More Posts About Shoes | Ziff Blog

Leave a Reply

