Ziff Blog Goes to Law School…. (to be continued)

Whew. After a busy morning of case-related postings, it’s time for a more personal post. As you may already know – if you’ve read my “About” page or my “Disclaimer” – I’ve been doing this blog during the past couple of months while I’m on “sabbatical,” which is just a fun way of saying that I didn’t have a job. However, having missed out on the Mega Millions jackpot a while back, and having not invested in Google stock when it was under $200 a share, I knew I needed to get another job at some point.

Well, I found out last week that “some point” has arrived. Starting at the end of the summer I’ll be joining the University of Washington School of Law as a full-time Lecturer in the Legal Analysis, Research, and Writing Program. Basically, I’ll be teaching lawyering to a couple of classes of first-year law students. To say I’m thrilled or excited or whatever else would be a huge understatement. The UW Law School is great, all of the professors, staff, and administrators that I’ve met during the interview process have been amazing, and legal writing, research, and analysis have collectively pretty much been my favorite aspect of every law-related job I’ve ever held. In other words, I think this is going to be a great opportunity for me.

I have no idea what this means for the future of Ziff Blog. I’ll certainly have much less time (if any time at all) to do the depth and/or volume of posts I’ve been doing up to this point. And even if I had all the time in the world, I don’t know what UW’s policy is on employee blogging. Perhaps it is discouraged. And even if it is not discouraged, I don’t know that I want to be writing about state cases (and state actors such as the Attorney General or the Governor) while I’m a state employee at the state’s law school. I need to think about all that stuff.

But for now, and at least for the next couple of months, things should continue pretty much as normal. The earliest I could/would start the new job would be toward the end of July. I imagine I’ll have more to say on all of this closer to that time.

Anyway, writing this blog has been a huge help and incentive to keep me mentally plugged in to the legal world while I’ve been away from work (sort of like priming the mental pump). In my interviews, I certainly recalled examples and thought of issues that I’d only been aware of from writing and researching a post. So I’ve certainly gotten a lot out of this. I hope you’ve been enjoying it too. And I hope to be able to keep doing this, in some form, over the next couple of months and beyond. Thanks all!

2 thoughts on “Ziff Blog Goes to Law School…. (to be continued)

  1. If things shake out where you have time to blog but are troubled by writing about Washington cases while a Washington employee, just jump on over to theContractsGuy and do some guest posts on Missouri and Illinois cases. The Seventh and Eighth Circuits could use some attention also.

Leave a Reply

